Fiji Time Explained

Fun. blared over the restaurant stereo. Motivated surfers paddled out to the reef break to catch morning waves. Other backpackers yawned over their morning coffee, hiding their hangovers behind their sunglasses.

The Beachouse 1

As for me, I was on a mission.

I’d finally said goodbye to my Fijian family and made my way down the Coral Coast. I set up camp at a beachfront hostel appropriately (but none too creatively) called The Beachouse.

Beachouse hammock

Besides it stunning views and affordable prices, I chose The Beachouse because of the activities it offered. They offered surf lessons for under thirty bucks, snorkeling and scuba trips out on the reef, sunset boat rides, and hiking through the nearby jungles. It also boasted a bunch of free activities, which given my ever-dwindling budget, were of interest to me.

I’d spent all morning hunting down Napoleon. He was an employee of The Beachouse who lived in a nearby village. He was in charge of the free coconut jewelry making lessons.

Napoleon

I wanted mine. He was being elusive. Lucky for me, I’m a persistent little pain when I want something. After annoying the cooks in the kitchen, they directed me to the patio. I found him lounging in a hammock.

“Alright, Napoleon,” I chirped. “What time are you giving coconut jewelry lesson today? I’ve only got a few days left here and I need to monopolize my time. Let’s make some stuff!”

He stretched out his arms and legs. “Hmm… What time is it now?”

I looked at my watch. “Ten.”

He stood up and yawned. “Maybe eleven. Maybe twelve.” He started walking away. “Maybe tomorrow or next week, if I feel like it.”

Coconut jewelry

I waited for him to laugh at his joke. This was a joke, right? “Wait, Napoleon. Where are you going?”

He turned and waved. “Back to my village for a nap. Senga na lenga!”

I stood there, mouth agape, staring after him. What the heck did he mean ‘no worries‘? I turned to one of the backpackers who had watched the interaction. “What happened here? There are supposed to be lessons everyday.”

The backpacker laughed and shrugged. “What can you do, Hil? We’re on Fiji Time!”

Beachouse & HorsesGuess I still had some learnin’ to do…

31 thoughts on “Fiji Time Explained

  1. We call it the island time. And what is so unoriginal about a beach house called, The Beach House? Haha! Come to the Philippines and you will find that we call the white beach, wait for it, White Beach. :))

  2. Hello Hil,
    As a fellow nomad, one thing you must learn is that on the islands, their time is THEIR time. After living in Maui for 9 months i learned to break away and do my own thing. That included, hikes, glider flights and jumps as well as the ease of being in a outrigger canoe. By the way, your photos are fantastic!

    • Haha, yes that is SO true! No thing as schedules or appointments in those places! On one hand it’s nice. But when you’re pressed for time to fit in all the things you want to do, it can be stressful. =)

      What did you do while you were in Maui? That sounds amazing!!

      And thank you. It helps to have great scenery when capturing great photos. =)

      • Besides work to support my hobbies, I joined a outrigger canoe club, hiked, took glider flights and explored the island alone and with friends. I became the photographer and story writer for the adventures that I participated in with groups. (My stories are posted on both websites). You are right, it does help to have great scenery and Maui has that without much searching. Now if I could have your secret to gaining such high views and followers I will be so happy!

        • That’s SO awesome! Hawaii has always been on my list, but I’ve always been terrified about figuring out how I would support myself out there just because it’s so expensive. One day, though!

          And you’re too sweet. I don’t really know how that happened myself, haha!

  3. Hahahaha love it!
    (Though I’m sure it would be frustrating… until you got too used to it and then frustrating when you arrived back home to people demanding specific times 😉 )

    • Hahaha! I wouldn’t have cared had I not been on a tight schedule to fit all my fun in before I left. But my schedule meant nothing. To ANY of the locals. Serves me right for thinking it should.

      And yes, upon my arrival back, I CERTAINLY had a much more relaxed attitude than the rest of my peers. But that ‘Hankuna Matata’ phase lasted all of a few weeks. 😉

    • Does it? I’ve heard a lot of island cultures are similar in that regard. But I suppose when you live in paradise, where do you have to rush off to? =)

      How is Mauritius treating you?

      • Rush to the beach to procrastinate!

        We are getting cyclone warnings here at the moment. The last time I was in a cyclone/hurricane was for my 4th birthday when I was actually in Mauritius!

          • It passed as to the East, just had some heavy rain! Now my quest to fend off the monster mosquitoes! And snakes, frogs, crabs, giant grasshoppers, cockroaches, rats, giant snails and my parent’s cat!

            • Oh good, glad you’re safe from the hurricane.

              Goodness, sounds like you’ve got quite the array of creatures working against you! If you figure out a good repellent for the mosquitoes, please let me know! I can’t ever seem to win that battle. But Vicks Vapor Rub is GREAT for soothing the itching!

              Couldn’t help laughing at the cat comment. I now have a great visual of a cat sitting atop your head. 😉

  4. Pingback: Fiji Time Explained | Home Far Away From Home

Give me your two cents!

