2012- A Nomadic Year in Pictures

It’s hard to believe that 2012 is drawing to a close, especially after it being so eventful for myself, as well as most of the world.

Hilary in Banshee Canyon We’ve witnessed and experienced elections, revolutions, and tragedies. It seemed like every time I turn on the television there’s talk of gun control, the fiscal cliff, and the possible end of the world (thanks, Mayans, for the added confusion). But we also celebrated 12.12.12 and the success of a man breaking the sound-speed barrier with only a jump. iPads got smaller and our hearts grew larger.

Aunt Hilary and AprilWhile the world seems to be hanging by its heart-strings, I feel like a deeper change is happening to us all. There was something about this year that’s caused a lot of questioning, redefining, and action.

Red Rock yogis 2On a more personal level, it’s been a year of risks, self-doubt, and self-discovery. So much has happened over the past 365 days, it feels likeĀ I’ve lived a thousand years in one.

Hilary C17 standing

This year has been tumultuous, showing glimpses of what the future may hold for me, all the while keeping me busy wading through the daily chaos.

Photo by Anika Munshi

Photo by Anika Munshi

So many adventures experienced, fears faced, and challenges overcome. I feel about the same, but I know I’m different. I can’t tell you how, only that something inside me says it’s so.

Hilary Fiji sunset

It’s been unbelievable. And exhausting. Unbelievably exhausting, too.

Hilary on BeqaAnd while I’m so anxious to share with you more tales from Fiji, I’ve decided to share 13 photos that I feel sum up my year of experiences (one for each month of the year and one for good luck =). Let’s call it my softness for the holiday season or the workings of my deep-seeded nostalgia. Or maybe it’s my compulsive need to wrap up my life with a pretty bow.

Hilary and Kanga

Regardless, I share these photos with you in thanks. Thanks for following my journey, watching me grow, and your willingness to support me through all those trying moments. You probably have betterĀ things to do than read about an American girl’s misadventures, but I am so grateful that you do. I have so much love for the blogging community and all that you have given me.

Hilary and Miss Piggy 1I only hope that through my adventures and my words, I am able to return the favor.

Napoleon WrasseHere’s to an exceptional year, and to 2013… A year I feel that holds more great things for us all.

Hilary Photo 5 I wish for you more laughter than tears, more growth than stagnation, and more love than anything else.

Hilary and lion cubAnd who knows? Maybe the best is yet to come…

Hilary in FijiHappy New Year, all! Lots of love and well-wishes from me to you.

48 thoughts on “2012- A Nomadic Year in Pictures

    • Thank you! Sometimes it’s hard to fathom how much actually happened last year… And sometimes it’s even harder to imagine that there’s still so much more I want to see/do/experience.

      Do you have any goals, dream vacations, or aspirations for 2013?

  1. “Maybe the best is yet to come?”

    Please. More like: “May the best be yet to come!”

    Can’t wait to keep following your adventures in 2013!

    • =) You are wonderful to me. Thank you.

      And I can’t wait to do the same! I know it’s going to be a big transition for you… but remember when you first commented about how you weren’t sure you liked France? And now you’re probably missing it? šŸ™‚ What a great growing experience for you! I know 2013 will bring many more of those.

      Any New Year’s Resolutions?

    • Haha! Thank you! It’s a great photo indeed. One of my readers actually had it printed up and sent to me on a birthday card. It was pretty awesome.

      Do you have a favorite photo from 2012? Any resolutions for 2013?

      • I usually don’t like to make resolutions because a promise to oneself is hard enough to keep but to add the weight of a “resolution” or “new year” just sets me for doom right from the start. But I guess if I had to make one, it would probably be to reply to comments on time šŸ˜‰

        • Haha! Oh man, I would totally FAIL at that one. I feel like I’m normally pretty good, but then I get swamped with work and just neglect poor commenters. But let me know how it goes for you šŸ˜‰

    • Thank you, miss Juls! I hope with all my heart that it is so. And I wish you all the best for your 2013 as well. =)

      Thank you for reading and being open to sharing in my world. Cheers!

      Any new year’s resolutions?

  2. Happy New Year. May 2013 find you well. I for one have a really good feeling about this year even if I have to write the number 13 when I date anything for the next 365 days.

    • Aww, thank you so much, Aunt Carolyn! You flatter me so. =)

      And can I just say how shocked and excited I am that you’re leaving me a comment? Through wordpress? So excited to watch your growth as well!

      Love you!!!

    • Thanks, Britt! I love that photo. I always hear him saying, “Ugh- you’re not doing it right… you’re supposed to hold your hands like this…”

      =) Thanks for sharing in my gorgeous year! So grateful for you! Happy New Year!

Give me your two cents!