A Port Townsend Treasure

I’ve been exploring the peninsula of Washington for a little over a week now. My initial assessment is that if you can handle the continual overcast skies and frigid cold, nature will aptly reward you for your tolerance.

And while I am enjoying my time here, I’ve been unsuccessfully searching for some small-town charm to enrapture me. Well, that is until today.

My aunt wanted to take me to the nearby town of Port Townsend to check out the shops along the water. As it would turn out, these three blocks would make up the entirety of downtown (shocking to this Vegas girl). I lazily moseyed past the storefronts, not feeling a deep need to investigate further. But then I saw a sign (insert Ace of Base lyrics here) and things changed,

As an avid Lewis Carroll fan, my curiosity was piqued. I stepped through the doorway and into the mystical shop.

Little did I know what delight I would find from the treasures inside (or how long I could entertain myself by trying on hats).

All the hats, scarves, and baubles that fill the shelves of this storefront are handmade by the locals of Port Townsend (an eclectic collective indeed). Each piece is one-of-a-kind and slightly imperfect, oozing enchantment.

Yep. I was successfully spellbound by a hat store in the middle-of-nowhere Washington. So it goes.

40 thoughts on “A Port Townsend Treasure

  1. When I visited America for the first time my host family took me to this big mall – bigger than I’ve ever seen before. And all the clothes here are really cheap. Where did I stop? The tea shop!

  2. There’s a fantastic beer fest in Port Townsend the last weekend of January every year called Strange Brewfest, since breweries make beers like Squid Ink IPA… anyways, great little getaway town. Fort Warden is pretty interesting and there’s a great Thai place in PT too. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Lindsey! Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and comment!

      I’ve heard that PT has some cool festivals like that but only ones going on in the summer. Good to know there’s fun to be had over the winter months! =)

  3. As a guy with his own collection, I can honestly say you can never have enough hats!

    Of course now I have “Ace of Base” going through my head. Thank you. πŸ˜‰

  4. Kate’s favorite plan about visiting ANYWHERE… NO PLAN!!!!
    (Borrowed/adapted from Monty Python’s Life of Brian:-),
    “She’s making it up as she goes along!” wooooohoooooo, the only way to travel!
    When we remain in the present moment, all is ΓΌber awesome!!! πŸ˜€

    Btw, really enjoying your Blog

    Laters,
    Kate/ I am

    • Hi Kate,

      Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! Monty Python is a great movie. No plans are good plans, especially when in unfamiliar territory. =) And I’m happy to hear you enjoy reading the blog!

      Do you have a favorite place to travel?

  5. Did you go to the Water Street Creperie in Port Townsend? Best crepes in the North!!!
    Glad you found the Hatter, awesome! I want to retire to Sequim just to the west of Port Townsend someday! I love Dungeness Spit, great place to hike out to a working lighthouse! Well enjoy the rest of your visit here in Washington State Hilary!

Give me your two cents!

