Heading Home Somewhere Over a Rainbow

I mulled over my peanut buttered bagel. This trip had been so enlightening, inspiring, and nurturing; I had never met such a spectacular group of women. Everyday was such a great experience, even eating breakfast seemed like an adventure. It was hard to believe we were sharing our last meal in paradise.

Photo by Andrea Preziotti

Photo by Andrea Preziotti

Holly sat across from me. I asked her if she had a favorite memory from the retreat.

She sat there chewing and thinking. She swallowed and replied, “Horseback riding was definitely one of my favorite moments. Another was you paddling out the back yesterday. I’m still stoked for you.”

I grinned. I was still stoked too (Warning: Stoked feelings may have a tendency to last for days to weeks at a time).

The other women chattered about their plans from here and passed around contact information. Before we knew it, Holly was ushering those of us who had flights to catch down to the truck.

We said our goodbyes and took one or two jumping photos for the road.

Holly packed us up into her Toyota.

“You know, I packed way more clothes than I ever wore,” I said as I handed Holly my bag.

“Yeah,” she laughed, “That happens to everyone. They think they’re going to need so many clothes, and then they just end up running around in their bikini all week.” I laughed too, realizing that’s practically what we all did. I was going to miss not having to change outfits.

Holly drove us up the road to meet Omar, who would be taking us the three and a half hour journey to Managua. Along the way we discussed Holly’s travel schedule, things we would miss about Nica (such as the food and the waves) and things we were excited to have back (such as our pets and clean hair).

Omar met us at the El Coco Loco sign and transferred all of our bags. Holly wished us the best and gave us sturdy hugs. She waved goodbye and went on her way to surf one of her secret spots and then search for reliable internet. We wished her best in her venture and parted ways.

As I watched this brilliantly strong woman drive away, I was sad to see her go. Our Nicaraguan adventures were officially over, but I knew this wasn’t going to be the last time I saw her.

Omar let us plug in Andrea’s iPod for the trip back. We enjoyed the cattle traffic jams and jammed out to some of our favorite boy bands from the nineties. Along the way, Omar would serve as an excellent impromptu tour guide and point out the sights through Chinandega and Leon.

Photo by Andrea Preziotti

Leon. Photo by Andrea Preziotti

I was content to let my thoughts get lost in the music, choosing instead to devote my energy to drinking in the scenery. I counted the carts on the side of the road and sighed into my smiles as I thought back on our Nicaraguan adventures.

Photo by Andrea Preziotti

Photo by Andrea Preziotti

At some point we would all doze off, letting the fatigue from our adventures finally overtake our will power. We inhaled the carbon dioxide fumes from the cars ahead of us and sank into the bliss of the moment.

The three and a half hours went by quickly and we gave our thanks and goodbyes to Omar at the terminal.

Andrea, Jen and I spent the next few hours at the airport. My flight departed sooner than theirs so I was the first to say goodbye and buckle up for the flight home.

At some point on my flight from Managua to Houston, I would fly over the Gulf of Mexico’s Barrier Reef. I marveled at the view.

Not long after putting away my camera, I would fly over a rainbow. I laughed at the thought knowing Dorothy would be jealous.

I arrived back into Vegas just before the stroke of midnight, thus ending the magical spell and turning me back into a pumpkin.

Even though I was driving through the familiar setting of the neon lights and dry heat, I felt changed; like a canvas that finally felt the weight of paint.

I was carrying eight women in my heart and picturing paradise.

I may have made it safely back to Vegas but my spirit was walking along a beach in Nicaragua, sharing a bond and happiness with my fellow travelers.

Photo by Andrea Preziotti

I could feel a stirring in my soul. This journey had awakened something dormant deep within me.

I knew my story and travels were just beginning.

11 thoughts on “Heading Home Somewhere Over a Rainbow

  1. I’ve spent so much time reading this beginning of your adventures (I started reading your blog some months back when you told about the life of a modern nomad) and it does feel sad to read about you going home.
    I was wondering: how long after this happened did you write it?

    • First off, I must say I am so grateful and thankful that you took the time to go back and read some of my past blogs! That really means a lot to a blogger (well, you get it ;).

      It was a bittersweet moment. Endings always are. But they also mean the chance for new beginnings (Gosh, I sound like a bad Hallmark card).

      Well I got back from my trip by the start of fall and I started drafting blogs right away. I decided I only wanted to post about once a week because I was spending so much time editing and crafting each blog. it had been such a special trip I wanted to give each post the due diligence it deserved. Then as I started gaining readers, this seemed like a good schedule to keep. =)

      • Makes sense šŸ™‚ Well, I think your lifestyle is so special so I wanted to get the whole story and see your progression. I mean the thought of going from one place to another is pretty special, and the way that idea came to be is something I’m looking forward to reading šŸ˜€ And your adventure posts are very encouraging.

        • Reading this literally made my day. Thank you so much! It’s sweet readers like you that keep me going. I love being able to motivate and encourage because that’s what you guys give me. =)

          And by the way, I featured your blog and this comment on my facebook page. It was too good to keep to myself!

          • Wow, great that the comment made you happy šŸ˜€ Thank you for featuring me, that’s very kind. I’m looking forward to reading more of your adventures. You know, you have a knack for making all situations dramatic. I got to thinking of that today as I was working by the side of a big wall of lumber, which might fall into my head every second, and I kept thinking “if Hilary was to describe this it would be hella scary words”. (I’m thinking especially of your rock climbing post here ;))

            • Oh man, this made me laugh so hard. I don’t know whether it’s a good thing or not, but I do seem to have a flare for drama. I think I’ve watched one too many prime-time dramas in my day šŸ˜‰

              Looking forward to staying in touch! And can’t wait to hear more about this lumber story. =)

              • Haha, I doubt the lumber story has any substance to it. Nothing out of the ordinary has really been happening to me lately. Which is why I though to make a time skip to childhood. Did you ever notice how weird children are? They do such strange things for no reason.
                I remember being excluded when I was a child. Today I think I understand why šŸ˜„

                • Haha, I think children do sometimes do strange things. But I think that has more to do with my lack of understanding than the children being silly. Plus, who doesn’t like a little sillyness? šŸ™‚

                  I think we all get excluded at some point in our lives. I’m sure they just didn’t understand you. But I’m sure they’d love to spend time now. And even if they don’t, there are others who will =).

                  • True. I think it’s important to put those sort of things behind you. I have a friend who keep putting herself down about how bad she was socially some years back. She gets physical reactions and stress symptoms whenever she runs into people from back then.
                    Speaking of sillyness, did you ever try bungy jumping on one of your many adventures?

  2. How fun! I loved your pictures through the airplane window and the one Andrea got of you in the side view mirror! Very cool!

Give me your two cents!

